Legislature considers adding four seats to Port of Seattle Commission

By Jack Mayne

South King County will get more representation on the Port of Seattle Commission under legislation introduced this week in the Washington Legislature.

The bill – HB 1999 – would create a nine district Port Commission to replace the five districts now and with district boundaries the same as King County Council districts. That means SeaTac, Burien and Normandy Park would have partial representation from two Port commissioners instead of just one now. Des Moines would be in a separate district that would include other areas of south King County.

The prime sponsor of the legislation is SeaTac Rep. Mia Gregerson, along with 13 other King County state representatives as co-sponsors, only one of which is a Republican legislator.

Under the proposal, now before the House State Government committee, only residents of the district can vote for and become a Port District commissioner but there will be at-large or Port district-wide slots, probably two of the nine positions.

The pay for the new Port Commissioners would be the same as for state legislators, says the bill, or $42,106 annually.

Comments are closed.